Fearful

I told myself that I am not leaving this computer until I have written something to contribute to this blog. It’s been almost three months. I am staring at the counter in the top right-hand of my screen that displays the number of people following my blog (which is Zer0…OUCH!), typing an opening statement, deleting it, typing a different one, deleting it as well, changing topics and fishing around in my mess of a brain for just the right words to share with the world. It’s not that I don’t have anything to say or that there is a lack of wisdom to impart, I just genuinely do not know where to start. I am not a writer.

I re-read my last and only two entries & they didn’t suck; in fact, “Every Starfish Matters” encouraged me in a refreshing new way and “Speechless” reminded me of why it has taken me so long to even attempt to write anything again. I was trying to use the excuses that I didn’t have a working laptop, not enough time in the day, I have insecurities of messy thought organization but none of these are valid excuses. I am capable; I am MORE than capable of doing this!

So why is it so hard?

As I look at the title of this blog, my phrase to live by, “Faith Conquers Fear”, I can’t help but chuckle at the irony. How ironic that it’s fear that stops me from putting my fingers to the keyboard and sharing my words- Fear that it won’t be good enough, fear that I won’t get my message across or that it won’t be clear, fear that my words are pointless, fear that people won’t be interested in what I have to say, fear that my posts will be filled with grammatical and punctuation errors. These are silly fears. Although in reality, I have NOTHING to fear, if I AM going to fear something, it should be- what if someone slips through the net of salvation because I DIDN’T share my words, my stories, my thoughts and reflections? What if someone doesn’t ask God to heal them because they haven’t heard the story of someone being miraculously healed by the blood of Jesus? What if someone is searching for encouragement that only my story could provide but I never write it? What if I have a reason to smile but don’t share it? What if I have the answer to a question that someone is too uncomfortable or doesn’t know how to ask?

God is more concerned with saving souls and exposing the world to His love, grace and mercy through HIS WORD than He is concerned with me being comfortable expressing MY WORDS. How arrogant of me to think that this was ever about ME and MY agenda in the first place.

Faith ALWAYS Conquers Fear.

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” -Credit Given to Nelson Mandela

Sure I may not spell everything correctly or use a semi-colon in the right way however, I asked God to use me. I asked God to make me a vessel for His Word, for His Light, and for His Love, so that it may be imparted upon as many people as possible. I WILL WRITE. I will write with authority! I will write with boldness! I shall not fear, my God is for me!

“The LORD is my light and my salvation,whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life,of whom shall I be afraid?” Psalm 27:1

3 thoughts on “Fearful

  1. Hi There!

    I recently suffered with the fear of writing to my blog and actually let the blog sit for months, The one day God, spoke to me to start writing I was scared to because of a lot of “What Ifs” so Ignored the conviction laid upon my heart… A few more weeks went by and I started to sense the conviction again but this time it was stronger, So I step out on a limb and started writing no traffic, no comments, no followers, so I became discouraged thinking to my self wow I am writing these post for nothing and went to bed with that thought on my mind… When I woke up I sensed God, speaking to me again to write another post but I didn’t know what to write so I just ignored the conviction later as the day pressed on the conviction grow stronger,

    At this point I became frustrated and said to God what I am suppose to write about shortly after God replied “Trust Me” I thought to myself this isn’t the answer I am looking for so I went on with my daily routine, The next following day I heard God again say “Trust Me” so while I was praying I said to God, “Okay God, I will put my trust in you” 4 hours went by then it hit me these words started flowing through my head I actually became over whelmed… By the time I was done writing the post I became self indulged with waiting for traffic, comments, etc, a week went by still nothing… I started to give up on writing… I went and ran errands with my wife, and when I got back I had my first post like this meant a lot to me…. So I started to write, more and more posts became liked, at this point I let my pride get in the way and I started putting more trust in myself compared to God, and the blog took a backward direction I gave up again, 2 weeks went by I posted nothing but I had a lot of drafts… after 2 weeks went by God, spoke to my again “Trust Me” so out of obedience towards God, I decided to submit to trusting Him, ever since my Blog has flourished because of the guidance God, has given me through the Holy Spirit…

    I’ve learned to not take credit for what I write for the simple fact God, guides me with the topics and wording for the posts…

    So My point is Trust God, He will give you the ability to get his point across to others…

    God, Bless
    -SK

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this with me! Your story is so encouraging and just what I needed to hear! Thank you for following, reposting and supporting me as I start this journey. You are VERY MUCH appreciated! 🙂

Leave a comment